About ASX

Our mission

The Astronomy & Space Exploration Society (ASX) is a non-profit organization run by the University of Toronto undergraduate space community, in Ontario, Canada. ASX’s purpose is to educate, excite, and inspire students, professionals, and the general public about astronomy and space.

Since its inception in 2003, ASX has rapidly grown to over 1200 members, and has organized and hosted 10 or more events per year, attracting hundreds of event attendees each year. ASX’s signature event is the Annual Symposium, which has attracted an audience of up to 500 people in a single event. Other events include the “Star Talk” Lecture Series, Panel Discussions, Observing Nights, and Science Competitions. Topics of discussion have covered various facets of space, such as ‘Mars and Beyond’, ‘The Search for Life’, ‘Cosmology from the Stratosphere’, and ‘Space Business’.

Here is our constitution.


ASX has established partnerships with numerous organizations, such as The Star Spot, University of Toronto’s Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics, CSS (Canadian Space Society), Mars Society Canada, and the Ontario Science Centre. In addition, ASX has collaborative relationships with the Royal Astronomical Society, CSA (Canadian Space Agency), UTIAS (U of T Institute for Aerospace Studies), and York University.

ASX is continuously seeking support from sponsors, new partnerships and collaborations, and distinguished speakers, in order to continue educating, exciting, and inspiring today’s society about astronomy and space exploration.

Asx has featured prominent speakers from around the world, such as:

Chris A. Hadfield

Canadian Astronaut

Michael E. Brown


Darlene Lim

NASA Geobiologist and Exobiologist


Robert D. Richards

Space Entrepreneur

Jaymie M. Matthews


Robert Zubrin

Aerospace Engineer

Ray Jayawardhana

Astronomy and Physics Professor

Carolyn Porco

Planetary Scientist

President: Harlin Toor
Vice President: Zachary Klouchnikov
Secretary: Amy Toms
Outreach Director: York Hay Ng
Events Director: Isabella Rivera
Symposium Director: Sitthisak Diwansingh
Symposium Director: Aleksandra Zhitkova
Webmaster: Hannah Semple
Graphics Designer: Amy Miller
Photographer: Irene Haeun Hwang